



## DESIGN CHALLENGE **AWARD CEREMONY**

**July 17, 2020** 

### **DESIGN CHALLENGE PROJECT TEAMS**

<u>1</u> Moises Diaz Genesis Lopez Sayf Pena Sean Summers <u>2</u> Merary Reyes Maya Lippman Maya Kademani Daion Jones

Tian Li Liu
Tanmayi Kademani
Tolu Jekayinfa
Nycholas Johnson
Daniel Nelson

4 Aaron Sheh Nathan Lee Ray Xiang Elias Murcray <u>**5**</u> Alexis McGraw

Emily Noelke Tyjuan Mayfield Jason Ng

**7**Jenny Rosales
Yuchen Zhu
Ruo Xu
Jeremiah Moulton

Derek Chen
Janelle Alvarado-Cortez
Alexis McGraw
Oscar Aguilar

10 Anurag Gajaria Arturo Perez Jesse Assaturian Joel Almer 11 Khieghyadra Cobb-Palechek Rami Ratl Mrad Jeremiah Williams Micah Maynard

Myles Gayle Lydia Shumate Joel Allen

Bryan Baez Mariah Kannike Aiden Veasley George Coleman Joseph Sheftick

Ayumi Shimojyo Samantha Cisneros Yaleily Marquez Ethan Murcray

**16** Chan Park Perla Alvarez

17 Franco Doval Sadrac Santacruz Jensen Xi 18 Akio Shimojyo Daniel Lopez

19 Daniel Chvat Malcolm Delgado Benjamin Shumate

Brendon Jiang Joseph Shumate Belinda Stoye

#### PARTICIPATING HIGH SCHOOLS

Abraham Lincoln High School Arlington High School BASIS Oro Valley Beaumont High School Canyon Springs High School Centennial Chapparal High School Citrus Valley Christian Academy Eleanor Roosevelt High School

Elsinore High School

John W. North High School Jurupa Valley High Martin Luther King High School Miller Middle School Norte Vista High School Palm Springs High School Patriot High School Poly High School

Redlands High School River Springs Charter School Riverside STEM High School San Jacinto High school Segerstrom The Academy for Academic Excellence Vista Murrieta High School Western Center Academy Woodcrest Christian High School

Ramona High School

### **AGENDA**

2:00 PM Competition of Five Finalists

3:30 PM Welcome & Thank You Sharon Gutierrez, Riverside Public Utilities

> John Robertson, Riverside Unified School District Gordon Bourns, STEP and Bourns, Inc

Certificates John Robertson and Gordon Bourns

**Awards** Sharon Gutierrez, John Robertson & Gordon Bourns

Closing Comments John Robertson





bursue careers in ence, technology, gineering and math













































## STEM PULL EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

John Robertson Teacher, Riverside Unified School District

**Todd Corbin** General Manager, Riverside Public Utilities

> **Gordon Bourns** President, STEP and Bourns, Inc.

Will Sarris, Reader of "What Do You Do With An Idea?" by Kobi Yamada

**Sharon Gutierrez** 

Utilities Sr. Programs and Services Representative, Riverside Public Utilities

Damaris Velez

Jim King

Electrical Field Manager, Riverside Public Utilities

Jason Rollins

Utilities Power Line Technician, Riverside Public Utilities

Kaitlin Bilhartz

Marketing and Communications Manager, Riverside Public Utilities

Phil Pitchford

Public Information Officer, Riverside Public Utilities

Chuck Casey
Utilities General Manager, Riverside Public Utilities

**Greg Herzog** 

Senior Utilities Resources Analyst, Riverside Public Utilities

Cliff Bellinghausen

Chief Water System Operator, Riverside Public Utilities

Carlie Meyers

Assistant General Manager Finance and Customer Service, Riverside Public Utilities

Dr. Phil Van Haaster

Industrial & Mechanical Engineering, Bourns College of Engineering, CBU

Jennifer Tafaglione

Sr. Project Manager, Riverside Public Utilities

Peter Wohlgemuth
Ward 1, Riverside Public Utilities

**Ana Miramontes** Ward 2, Riverside Public Utilities Board

Gil Oceguera

Ward 7, Riverside Public Utilities Board

Gaby Plascencia

Council Member, City of Riverside, Ward 5

Jim Perry

Council Member, City of Riverside, Ward 6

Dr. Anthony Donaldson

Dean, Gordon and Jill Bourns College of Engineering, CBU

Dr. Mark Kim

Professor, Gordon and Jill Bourns College of Engineering, CBU

Gabriel Andava

Electrical Engineer, Southern California Edison

## **STEM PULL MANAGEMENT & TEACHERS**

**Sharon Gutierrez** Damaris Velez Rhonda Clement John Robertson Gordon Bourns **Ron Weston** Donna Schulte **Gordon Smith** Steve Klock Steve Harwood

Lawrence Goldstein Erika Zuvia Cvnthia Kline

Michelle Davidson Linda Jirsa

John Enyeart Callie Neal

Lana Taylor

Lillian McCandless

Fred Baxa

### **MENTORS**

Ryan Reyes Kyle Suk



Mathias A Oyanader Ezry Lopez Alexander James Kowalewski Nick E. Romero Kathryn Elizabeth Olsen Kabrina Bowls Susana Cruz Adonai Pearson Cory Walter Grewohl Javier Alejandro Sigala

Amanda Yinggian Low Tamrat Seyoum Andrew Galvan Shanna Kuchenbecker Julia Gutierrez Gildardo Oceguera Dr. Grace Ni Dr. Michael Kolta Ben Nunally

Ronald Weston

# 2020 STEM Public Utilities Learning Labs Design Challenge Competition

#### First Place - Team 7

Jenny Rosales Yuchen Zhu Ruo Xu Jeremiah Moulton

#### **Second Place – Team 18**

Akio Shimojyo Daniel Lopez

#### Third Place - Team 20

Belinda Stoye Brendon Jiang Joseph Shumate

#### Fourth Place - Team 10

Jesse Assaturian Joel Almer Arturo Perez Anurag Gajaria

# 2020 STEM In Advanced Manufacturing Design Challenge Competition

#### First Place - Team 12

Ethan Murcray Eric Mazouk Anurag Gajaria Raelyn Cantu

#### Second Place - Team 15

Mariah Kannike
William Havercroft
Daion Jones
Ford McCormick

#### Third Place - Team 5

Nathaniel Gant Deanna Chavez Maya Kademani Ki Ki Cobb-Palechek

#### Fourth Place - Team 2

Joel Allen
Arturo Perez
Rami Ratl Mrad
Ibraheem Muhammad
Benjamin Shumate

## 2020 STEM In Advanced Manufacturing Business Simulation Game

#### First Place - Team 3

Jenny Rosales Akio Shimojyo Abhinab Reddy Jordan Campbell

#### Second Place - Team 1

Ria Babaria Emily Noelke Chan Park Joseph Shumate

#### **Third Place – Team 11**

Ayumi Shimojyo Yaleily Marquez Angel Alvarado Sean Summers

#### Fourth Place - Team 15

Mariah Kannike
William Havercroft
Daion Jones
Ford McCormick

#### Fifth Place - Team 7

Fatima Muhammad Micah Maynard Tanmayi Kademani

#### Sixth Place - Team 8

Nathan Lee